Winners of MOBO Awards revealed – as Sugababes and Soul II Soul given special prizes

Artists including Central Cee, Raye, Potter Payper and Dave have been recognised at the MOBO Awards.

Celebrating black music in the UK and internationally, the 26th MOBOs ceremony also saw special achievement prizes awarded to Soul II Soul, Sugababes and Ghetts.

Fresh from being announced as the most nominated artist ever for this year’s Brit Awards, Raye saw off competition from stars including joint nominations leader Little Simz and previous winner PinkPantheress to pick up the MOBO for best female.

Raye. Pic: Callum Walker Hutchinson/Brit Awards
Raye has been named best female. Pic: Callum Walker Hutchinson

Central Cee was named best male, beating the likes of Stormzy – who had tied with Little Simz with four nods ahead of the ceremony – J Hus and Dave. Central Cee also received the song of the year prize for Sprinter, his collaboration with Dave.

Potter Payper’s Real Back In Style was named album of the year ahead of records by Mercury Prize winners Ezra Collective, J Hus, Little Simz, Raye and Stormzy.

However, Stormzy did pick up one prize, with Mel Made Me Do It awarded video of the year.

Elsewhere, rapper Tunde received the best newcomer gong, while acts including Sault, Little Simz, Bugzy Malone, Asake, K-Trap and Ezra Collective picked up awards in the genre categories.

Best international act went to Drake & 21 Savage.

Jazzie B, from Soul II Soul, attends the MOBOs. Pic: PA
Jazzie B, from Soul II Soul, attends the MOBOs. Pic: PA

Read more:
Raye on the fight to release her debut album
The beginning of a lot of change’: The history of the MOBOs

Announced ahead of the ceremony, Sugababes were recognised for their impact on music, Soul II Soul were honoured with a lifetime achievement award, and Ghetts was named a pioneer.

Ghetts. Pic: Adam Jalloh/MOBO Awards
Ghetts. Pic: Adam Jalloh/MOBO Awards

Retired Olympic heptathlete Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill was also honoured, with the MOBOs “paving the way” award in recognition of her sporting and charitable achievements.

The MOBO Awards were streamed on YouTube from the Utility Arena Sheffield, hosted by comedian, actor and podcaster Babatunde Aleshe and Love Island star Indiyah Polack.

The full list of winners

Best male act: Central Cee
Best female act: Raye
Album of the year: Potter Payper – Real Back In Style
Song of the year: Central Cee & Dave – Sprinter
Best newcomer: Tunde
Video of the year: Stormzy – Mel Made Me Do It
Best RnB/ soul act: Sault
Best hip-hop act: Little Simz
Best grime act: Bugzy Malone
Best drill act: K-Trap
Best international act: Drake & 21 Savage
Best performance in a TV show/ film: Damson Idris as Franklin Saint – Snowfall
Best media personality: ShxtsNGigs
Best African music act: Asake
Best Caribbean music act: Valiant
Best jazz act: Ezra Collective
Best alternative music act: Skindred
Best electronic/ dance act: Shygirl
Best producer: Inflo
Best gospel act: Limoblaze
Lifetime achievement award: Soul II Soul
Impact award: Sugababes
Paving the way award: Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill
Pioneer award: Ghetts

Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *